2017 Ambassador Award Winners

Established in 2013, the Ambassador Award honors members whose achievements extend beyond those recognized by traditional scientific discipline awards. The award furthers AGU’s strategic goals to promote collaboration and innovation, inform society about Earth and space science, and build the global talent pool. The Ambassador Award is given annually to up to five honorees. This year’s winners are: Jean M. Bahr, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Robert A. Duce, Texas A&M University; and Richard C.J. Somerville, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University California, San Diego.

2016 Outstanding Student Presentation Award Winners

Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPA) are given to promote, recognize and reward undergraduate, master’s, and Ph.D. students for quality research. The following students were recognized for their high-quality presentations at the 2016 Fall Meeting: Marshaun Montgomery, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Amanda Sorensen, Rutgers University.

2015 Outstanding Student Presentation Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of Outstanding Student Presentation Awards from the 2015 Fall Meeting. This year’s winners from the SIPS Focus Group are: Jill Shipman, University of Alaska, Fairbanks; Kimberley Corwin, Boise State University; and Maya K. Buchanan, Princeton. Many thanks to all the SIPS members who judged student presentations and to our SIPS OSPA coordinators, Denise Hills and Linda Rowan.

2015 Student Travel Grants

Congratulations to the students who received travel grant support to attend the AGU Fall Meeting in 2015. The students include: Francisco Delgado, Cornell; Dylan McConnell, University of Melbourne; Lin Hui, Tsinghua University; Michael Norton, University of California, Davis; Sarah Kittross, Union College; Dario Solano Rojas, University of Miami and Ryan Haupt, University of Wyoming.